The art of procrastination!

Procrastination. If you look up this word in the dictionary (you know that book with all the words and their meanings) you would find my smiling face, along with millions of others, but I am definitely there. This line alone took me 30 minutes to put on paper, but to be fair I am at work. Procrastination is something that I have been fighting since as long as I can remember. I could be bogged down with work to do and just ignore it, yet, somehow it gets done (sometimes just by the hair of my chinny chin chin). I always find a way to pull a miracle out every single time my back is against the proverbial wall.

I’m not always sure what causes the procrastination. Each case has its own circumstances. Most of the time I guess I just wasn’t ready yet. For instance, this blog.  Back in January of this year I participated in the long standing tradition of resolution writings but this time I wrote them as affirmations. I told myself that by the end of the year I will write a book, be a good friend, and be happy. Ah you thought I’d say lose weight or go to the gym! Yeah… I gave up on pressure tactics when it comes to my weight loss.  Instead I decided to be happy in my own skin and work on any improvements I believe I need from that mindset.  This has been much easier as opposed to being miserable and emotionally eating. I haven’t lost a ton of weight in this particular year but I haven’t gained so I’m calling it winning so far!

So this is how it went…

January…

February…

March…

April…

May…

June…

July…

August…

September…

All came and left, like months do, and I made not a single move to write. I  talked about it all the time though with anyone who was listening. October almost snuck by me as well but I caught it in the last week. It was then that I finally did it! I signed up for a blog account on WordPress and started Facebook (titled When I Thought I was Fat) and Instagram (Empoweryourself79) pages to compliment it. I went even further and signed myself up for two online courses offered by WordPress in how to be successful at creating a blog and writing. I have learned so much and I am full of ideas on how to move forward (except for promotion but I’m working on that). I want to be successful in this venture. I want to be heard and I want to hear others. I want to make those connections. I am very happy with how my pages have turned out and the responses that I have received have been nothing but positive.

So in response to this tweet on whether or not procrastination kills creativity or is essential for it really depends on the person.  For me it seems to be an essential part to how I function and how I create. I may have procrastinated about the start of my writing adventure but it just gave me a longer time to think about how I was going to start…. Yeah let’s go with that!

With all that said let me publish this post that I began at 10AM… I’m at work!

One thought on “The art of procrastination!

Leave a Reply

