Aunt Dots Paper Designs!

People buy cards for any number of reasons.

Birthdays, Holidays, Sympathy, Get well soon, Uplifting, or Just for fun

When one such occasion presents itself we find ourselves walking down the card aisle of any given store sifting through hundreds of cards to find that perfect one. When you find that perfect one there are several others that look just like it sitting there waiting for someone else to pass by.

Same ole same ole!

Why give something that has been mass manufactured when you can buy a piece of originality?

A good friend of mine, who I worked with for 5 wonderful years, has created some of the best cards I have ever seen. Every time a circumstance came around that required a card she always came through with something wonderful.  People who know her have had the pleasure at some point or another of receiving one of these awesome cards. I was delighted recently to learn that she has decided to open up a store on Etsy to sell her designs. Now everyone has access to her genius!

Here are some the top reasons buying one of her handmade originals is better than a mass produced one.

  1. You are guaranteeing the person that you bought the card for that they are receiving something original!
  2. Buying handmade cards would be supporting a budding small business. It is a win-win situation. You get to buy beautiful handmade card and you enable an artist to continue following their creative dreams!
  3. It is good for the economy! We need to support small businesses and artists over the big corporations.
  4. You are giving the handmade artist a huge compliment and actually saying “I love what you are doing” which in turn means you are supporting their vision.
  5. You can be the first one of all your friends to discover a great designer!
  6. You are inspiring creativity! Soon people will be running to Pinterest!
  7. Buying handmade shows that not everything in this world needs to be mass produced. It teaches to love and appreciate the unique.
  8. Best way to avoid human exploitation by big boxed companies.
  9. No waiting in lines!
  10. It is more personal. I had a card created for my boyfriend’s birthday this past year and I had it customized with some of his favorite things. He loved it so much that it is still on display 5 months later because it was that awesome!
12277112_1069553319721847_1563560243_n

The card I had made for my boyfriend’s birthday!

12282971_1069553316388514_318007582_n

My going away open card display I received when I got a new job.

 

12269051_1069484369728742_1802721357_o

A birthday card I received. This is the outside.

11991325_1069484376395408_109186222_o

This is the inside.

 

il_570xN.863336060_ce47

One of the holiday cards from her store

il_570xN.862873585_4y5m

Another holiday card up for sale!

il_570xN.862828373_iouf

These cards are so beautiful!

il_570xN.868226686_2dn1

I love the colors and how the image pops!

il_570xN.866905530_hyh0

She even made gift tags!

il_570xN.863551750_juc6

My favorite holiday character!

These cards and more are available through her Etsy store. You can check it out at Aunt Dots Paper Designs

15 thoughts on “Aunt Dots Paper Designs!

  1. I love handmade cards. I always make my own too. It’s so much more personal and shows you actually thought about the person. My kids love helping me too! X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such lovely cards and beautiful reasons to buy them. Looking at them I couldn’t believe that they were handmade. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    On another note: I also observe that your site is looking different today–am I right or imagining things 😀

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Epically Awesome Award | When I thought I was fat!

  4. Pingback: Featured Bloggers 3/9/16: How to Blog Network | Dream Big, Dream Often

  5. Cute Cards! Everyone prefers handmade cards if they can afford them. I met you on Danny Ray’s site. Congratulations on being his featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my site if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

