The weight of self-worth

Word prompt: Saga

Let me ask you a question

How do you define self-worth?

Is it based on someone’s opinion?

On the size of your girth?

I was once thrown

Into the pit of depression

Brought down by a man

Who made me live in oppression

He was ashamed every day

My looks were a fail

He hung his head in shame

To be dating a whale

He would force me on diets

I had to lose weight

If I gained instead

On thin ice I skate

So I’d starve for days

Before I’d give into food

Because I was forced on the scale

And his insults were crude

There was nothing logical

With what happened to me

To live with a man

Who brought me down to my knee

From this experience

What did I learn?

Not every man

Will treat you so stern

It is hard to recover

From such a hole

But I met a man

He healed my soul

I’m not telling you

A relationship is required

To define yourself

For self-esteem to be acquired

Live life on your own terms

Don’t let anyone put you down

Shake off the nasty words

Before the weight makes you drown

17 thoughts on “The weight of self-worth

Leave a Reply

