Throwback Thursday: Pinch an inch!

If you can pinch more than an inch then you’re fat…

Who knows this one? I know I am not the only one! Honestly I have no recollection of how I came to learn this sweet turn of phrase but it is etched in my brain. Of course I don’t believe it for a second as I am sure the thinnest of person can muster up enough skin to pull an inch. 

It’s origins were explained to me by my wonderful cousin.  She informed me that it was an old Kellogg commercial. In fact this one right here!

Catchy tune… You can’t pinch and inch… Thanks to the K you can’t pinch and inch!

Blah blah blah yes you can! I don’t recommend trying though… constantly pinching at your skin is silly and will cause bruising!

Anywho… this commercial originated in the mid 80s making me about 4. So either my young innocent brain subconsciously absorbed the horrible self-injuring message… or it was passed down to me through my fad diet obsessed family. Either way it is there bouncing around on deaf ears because the premise is preposterous! Shoo I can pinch half a ruler! I joke I joke… but I probably can 🙂

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Pinch an inch!

  1. Yeah, that brainchild of some advertising exec did a real disservice to the consciousness of a country; making people think they weren’t ok, were less than, if they could pinch more than an inch. Such rubbish.

    Like

  2. I remember this quite well (I was older than 4 when this was a thing… by how much shall remain a mystery…) And it is crap! I actually remember at the time, my sisters and my mom and I all tried it. Guess what? We could all pinch an inch. And we were all different body types… I think at the time, my little sister was actually underweight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

