Deciding to seek help

 

12911009_1149997408344104_389405064_n

Continuing on yesterday’s post about mental health I want to talk about my decision to seek outside help. Talking to friend’s and family is great but sometimes it is not enough. The above photo was my self-evaluation. Not good.

Talking to a professional provided two things. First, it is someone who is not close to the situation so they can provide an outside voice.  Second, I’m weird and like it when information given to me is verified by a profession in the field. Gives me extra assurance. For instance my fears associated with class participation in college. I could read a book and know and understand the information but until the professor confirms my knowledge I never trusted it enough to speak my opinions in a classroom setting. This went full blown fear when I had to write my masters thesis. When working on a thesis, at least in my case, it is independent research building up from original thoughts to form your argument. I second guessed my way all the way through the 2 years it took to complete. I was only reassured during meetings with my adviser when he gave me thumbs up or down on my ideas. It was a nerve-wracking experience but it has made me a better researcher and critical thinker.

I digress… I do that a lot!

So I dragged my feet a long time on the choice to seek therapy. Mostly because I have always been a bit of a procrastinator… okay a lot so… and the depression didn’t help as it usually left me numb and unmotivated. I always felt though like I had a handle on my emotions. I thought seeing a therapist meant that I was crazy. A confirmation that something is wrong with me and that I was broken. During the really bad days I would just drink or eat to stuff down the pain then sleep for long hours.

However, 2014 was a very trying year for me:

I didn’t deal with the abuse that I previously went through
Whatever it was that I had with the bus driver ended in March
My emotionally draining second relationship ended in September which was the same month my grandfather passed.

The bad days quickly turned to bad weeks turned to bad months and enough was enough! By December I was crying and feeling like crap EVERY DAM DAY! Not even being at work was a relief because someone there was causing me stress as well.

Misconception:

Many survivors expect a smooth, constant emotional upward swing after an abusive relationship is over. They expect each day to be better than the one before. When this doesn’t happen, they may become discouraged, disheartened, and fearful that they may never feel better (Dugan, p. 116).

I didn’t want to live like this so I was finally determined to search for a therapist and it took quite some time! No one picks up or returns phone calls!

I left so many messages… so many dam messages!

Nothing!

Finally on advice from a friend I contacted my current therapy office. They had a special day set aside for new incoming patients to do a walk-in intake. I went to the very next one. I spent two hours answering questions and wiping away tears. By the end of it they recommended me for treatment by both a psychiatrist and a therapist. The therapist I was to see once a week and the psychiatrist once every 6 to 8 weeks. After 6 months of going the therapist cut me down to 2 times a month. We talked about going to once a month but I’m not ready. Sometimes I have to cancel or she cancels and then a month goes by without an appointment. During the third week I start to get a bit of anxiety.

I suppose I’ve gotten to the point where I look forward to my therapy sessions. I feel like they are restart buttons for the in-between weeks. I have gone from doing nothing but sitting there and crying to talking nonstop about my stress, depression, anxiety, and other concerns. I tell her about my bad dreams, days at work, and the sometimes emotional roller-coaster I am on for any given day. To show how insecure I still can be I asked her yesterday if I am doing therapy right because I am not sure how I am doing. She told me yes she has noticed I’ve gotten a lot better since last year and this made me happy.

So I took a re-took a test that I did before I started therapy.

This was the first round:

12939184_1149997375010774_842063917_n12910658_1149997365010775_488217531_n

The red/orange marks I just did today. I see improvements across the board!

12895439_1150003481676830_946635508_n12910810_1150003468343498_383865965_n

Could be better but the important part is healing not how fast it gets done!

*Worksheets were taken from Megan Kennedy Dugan’s book, It’s my life now: Starting over after an abusive relationship or domestic violence.

12 thoughts on “Deciding to seek help

  1. Seeking help is not a bad thing. I have chronic depression. I talk to a professional counselor and it helps greatly. I was married to a man that verbally, mentally and physically abused me. The thing is I did not realize it until years later. Hang in there. I’m here if you need a friend even if it is just to vent.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s great that you can see improvements (and share them with us). I hope you can keep going like this!
    I can really relate to the part you quoted from the book. Although it comes and goes (or secretly lingers in the back of my head). It makes me feel discouraged if I have a bad period. Because it feels as if you can never truly completely heal (which I often define as never ever have any trouble anymore with anything related. That you won’t even have memories coming up). But we can do this. Getting help in any form is nothing to be ashamed off. It can make things easier. We don’t have to do everything completely on our own, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. same here. if you need to vent I did a 12 week programme called the freedom project . It didn’t take 12 weeks to heal but life and I am almost 99% better and such a different person to how I was 4-5 years ago. That old saying. Time is a great healer -sucks but it is what it is, a process xxxx always here to read and chat too if you want. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Progress is slow and not always directly linear. You have to keep at it to keep improving, and it’s kind of like watching paint dry sometimes. But the sooner you start, the sooner you can get results.

    Like

  5. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 7 – “The Endless Beauty Of An Authentic Voice” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

