What have you conquered lately?

how-to-have-a-beach-body

Today’s IBMC challenge was a slight tough one. We had to use five quotes already given. It was a challenge for sure but I think I got it. It says short story but can’t my life be a story? That is one of the reasons why I blog after all… to tell my story through my thoughts of chaos!

IBMC #05: The Not So Quite Quote Challenge

There are five quotes given to you.

No! The challenge is not to describe any one quote.  You need to use all the five quotes a stitch a story. A short story which uses all of them. All the best!

Quote 01
I am confused at times. Should I sound? Should I echo?

Quote 02
You need not answer all the questions! You can just laugh and laugh again.

Quote 03
Thoughts – they do what we don’t ask for!

Quote 04
I knew it! That I don’t know!

Quote 05
At times, we pretend to think on one and actually think everything else!

I am confused at times. Should I sound? Should I echo? Should I stay hidden from the entire world and cower? Or should I voice my opinions loud and proud. Should I stay scared to explore who I am in fear of what other people will say? Or should I not care and do it anyway? What I know is you need not answer all the questions! You can just laugh and laugh again because whose business is it anyway to judge you? No one!

You want to wear that dress? Do it! You want to show your arms? Go for it! Want to wear all black? Wear it! If you are not hurting anyone I see no harm. The hardest part of doing what scares you is getting past your own self-talk. When I first started exploring clothing options outside of my comfort zone I was determined to wear things that scared me. I tried to train my brain to think that no one is looking. That no one is judging me but, thoughts – they do what we don’t ask for! However, if it is something that you truly want to do then push past the negative self-talk of the brain. With time your negative thoughts will subside and you will get used to whatever it is that you feared.

I still remember that first time I wore a tankini to the beach. I was so afraid of taking my cover-up off. People were going to stare and shout horrible things at me. My world was doomed to crash around me because I blinded everyone with the paleness of my untouched-by-the-sun legs. But alas, I knew it! That I don’t know! I’m not a mind reader or future seer. Gosh darn it not a single person looked in my direction! They were too busy enjoying their day at the beach with their families or friends or both. I was able to relax and 7 trips to the beach later I am ready to wear my first actual 2-piece this summer. There will be a blog post dedicated to that momentous moment as I tackle yet one more mind barrier.

At times, we pretend to think on one and actually think everything else! When in reality probably 90% of what we are thinking is just made up tales we tell ourselves to justify why we can’t do something.

What fearful thoughts has anyone else gotten over? If not is there anything on your to-do list that you want to tackle?

Share with me!

5

7 thoughts on “What have you conquered lately?

  1. Awesome reflection! I feel the same at the beach, and kind of a lot of the time here in S. Korea. The last time I conquered some self doubts was a few weeks ago: I wore leggings as pants for the first time to work. I had worn the shirt before with REALLY tight black jeans which look like leggings, but never actual leggings. By the end of the day I was feeling ok 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

