Just call me Moon Child!

I saw yesterday that the daily word prompt was moon so I knew I had to write something. However something happened that doesn’t normally happen… I was a bit busy at work. Anyway.. the reason for this need is because I’ve always loved the moon. I have said time and time again that if I wasn’t afraid of tattoos I would get that lovely heavenly body on my lovely heavenly body! Alas I am terrified of the pain and also the permanence of a tattoo. 

When I was younger I dabbled in the idea of being an astronaut. I really wanted to go to the moon. Young dreams! However that was shot down as soon as I heard you can die if your spacesuit get a tear. I was like 7 or 8 at the time. I have not done any research to confirm that this is in fact true… but since I do not meet the minimum requirements I will stick to a librarian career.

~~~~~~~~

When I was in middle school thru high school I fell in love with the animated TV show Sailor Moon.

The magical action-adventures of a teenage girl who learns of her destiny as the legendary warrior Sailor Moon and must band together with the other Sailor Soldiers to defend the Earth and Galaxy.

It is by far my fav since forever! The character growth of the main protagonist Usagi is amazing and the love between her and Mamoru is heart warming. Although I will say that his character Darien in the US version is a bit mean in the name of protecting her. He is so much more affectionate in the manga and the reboot series Sailor Moon Crystal. I loved that show so much I started collecting art from the original series. Here are a few of my favorite pieces. I plan to get them framed.

~~~~~~~~

I also enjoy the activity of Moon gazing. In the past I would sometimes just sit outside and stare at it. I have made attempts to take pictures of it when I felt it was the most beautiful but the phone camera cannot capture it’s pure beauty. All you really get is the sky with a bright shiny dot in the picture. Maybe I need a better camera who knows.  Anyway… I took Astronomy in college because one of the requirements was to do observations at the campus’ telescope. It was one of my favorite classes in college before I started my major. Plus I skeeve dissecting things so Biology was out and Chemistry was a no-no because I just don’t get it….

Ah the moon so bright so beautiful! There was one time I actually looked into buying real estate on the moon… crazy I know! Nothing could be greater than owning your own crater!

020615moon_640x360.jpg

~~~~~~~~

Then there is the whole Astrology field. Although I am not heavily into it I have since learned that the Moon is the ruler of my sign Cancer. Kismet doncha think!

I googled the following information on the Moon and my astrological sign. I took out some of the highlights below as they apply to my personality.

Moon in Cancer

Moon in Cancer natives have a large potential to be able to get in touch with the feelings and moods of others.- I really do. I often felt I can feel some peoples feelings. I remember I would get this strong shudder in my body and the hairs on my arms would stand up whenever one of my former coworkers went on one of his angry rants. Then again this is could also be my PTSD…  

Moon in Cancer people are never detached — they cling to things, their home, and people they care for. They seek out security and familiarity in all they do. They look for peace and quiet. Their attachment to all that is safe means they are a little leery of change.- Oh how much I hate change. Always have. When I was a kid I hated changing schools as I found it difficult to adapt and make friends. I was very shy. I also didn’t like changing jobs. I liked the comfort of being in one place and I wanted to grow in that place but it wasn’t in the cards.

These peace-loving souls dislike superficiality in all of its forms.- Yup…

They are devoted and accommodating.- Yup and too a fault I might add!

The insecure ones accumulate things in an attempt to feel secure.- I may need to evaluate this one some more…  

They may dwell on hurts long after everyone else has moved on.- My abuser thinks that we ended on good terms… this is the last thing he said to me… he may have but I sure as hell didn’t… 

When they feel they have been taken for granted (which may be often!), they don’t always confront others directly. This is when they can use roundabout ways to get your attention.- Yes I have a habit of being passive aggressive…

One of the most delightful characteristics of Moon in Cancer people is their loony sense of humor. These people can be extraordinarily funny- I must be frigging hysterical… my bosses laugh at me all the time when I ask for a raise… 

These people are wonderfully dependable overall, despite their occasional mood swings. Make a friend of Moon in Cancer, and you will be taken care of for life.- Thunder buddies for life I got you!

~~~~~~~~

The Moon in advertising

As you know I am ridiculous when it comes to shopping. I mean I bought a Cover Girl lipstick because it said Star Wars on it! If you put the word moon on something I am more than likely already planning on how I can buy it. For instance, my recent foray into makeup…

I bought the Moon Child highlighter palette from Anastasia Beverly Hills… but since I am not a book I plan to use it as eye shadow… so pretty… I really am a moon child now… sigh

Then I bought this sparkly eye shadow palette from Urban Decay called Moondust… I shall wear the sparkly dust of the moon on my face and look pretty pretty… ha where am I wearing this?

10690565_hi.jpg

Go ahead I will give you one guess why I am currently waiting on this to come in the mail…

They get me every time 😦

 

 

Leave a Reply

