Bad dreams and headaches

Sunday night I had a terrible dream and I woke up Monday with a equally terrible headache. Then I started to recall that I often wake up with these migraines after I have bad dreams. As if the dream wasn’t bad enough! 

I made an appointment with a neurologist to get my head checked next week. I can’t find any information on any correlation. I just want the migraines to stop.

According to the “failing” NY Times health article a Migraine Attack if untreated, usually last from 4 – 72 hours. A typical migraine attack produces the following symptoms:

  • Throbbing pain on one side of the head. The word migraine, in fact, is derived from the Greek word hemikrania, meaning “half of the head” because the pain of migraine often occurs on one side. Pain also sometimes spreads to affect the entire he
  • Pain worsened by physical activity
  • Nausea, sometimes with vomitin
  • Visual symptoms
  • Facial tingling or numbness
  • Extreme sensitivity to light and noise
  • Looking pale and feeling cold

I experience all of this when I have a migraine and it is no joke. My pain and facial tingling is usually on the left side of my head originating right behind the eye. I have had them last up to 9 days once back in 2011. I haven’t a clue why I didn’t go to the hospital. Probably had to due with my ex. He flat out didn’t give two shits about my headaches. He caused most of them!

Anyway does anyone else experience this? Bad dream equals waking up with a bad headache 😦

9 thoughts on “Bad dreams and headaches

  1. Luckily for me I’ve only had what they call ocular migraines – not much pain, but screws with your vision – like seeing streaks of light or mini fireworks in front of your face. Very disconcerting… I feel like sometimes I might wake up with mild headaches or even nausea after a particularly bad dream… but nothing quite to the level you are experiencing. Sorry to hear you’re having a hard time with this :/ Hopefully the Doc can shed some light on it all for you!

    Like

  2. I used to get horrible migraines when I was on my period and they would last the entire week! They went away after I started birth control and even now that I’m off BC they haven’t come back. I do sometimes wake up with a strong headache, but it’s usually cause by tension from sleeping at a weird angle or allergies/sinus pressure. Hope you can find the source of your migraines soon! They really are the worst pain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

