A to Z guide for a more positive life: A is for Affirmations #AtoZChallenge

I feel like I say this often but I am sorry for my absence. I am in a couple of life transitional phases that I will be talking about as they become confirmed.  One of them, as you may have guessed from my previous post, is that I am changing jobs. I will be starting my new librarian job next week. I am full of nervous energy but that is for a later post I have been working on. 

I decided that I wanted to join April’s A to Z challenge.  In the past I have been really bad at keeping up with challenges but I am determined to finish one! My theme for the month will be about positive energy. I am tired of fear and other negative emotions ruling my inner voices and causing me stress. Stress kills so I want it gone. Having positivity as my theme will force me to think up new and creative ways to divert my thoughts from the negative in hopes of relieving that undue stress. In the process, as always, I hope that anything I write will be useful for anyone reading.

As this is the 4th of April I am behind by 3 days so I will be playing a tiny bit of catch up.

For this first post I want to talk about affirmations. Why? Because I believe the first thing we need to do is reprogram our inner voices. I don’t know about you but if my inner voice was my friend we wouldn’t be friends. I say things to myself such as

“I can’t teacher what if they ask me a question and I don’t know the answer”

“I can’t go on the interview I never know how to answer the questions”

“I can’t call my representatives what if they ask me something I don’t know”

“I’m not smart enough”

You get the idea. My head is half full of “I can’t” statements with the other half occupied by worrying if people are mad at me.

As I just wrote this I am now fully aware that most of my “I can’t” statements in life have to do with my depth of knowledge. I never feel smart enough to talk to people. No matter how many books I read, classes I take, or conversations I quietly sit in on I never feel as if I can contribute anything worthwhile. Surely this is a topic for another post.

I read somewhere that you should ask yourself “would I say this to a friend?” If the answer is no follow it up with the question “if you wouldn’t say this to a friend why are you saying it to yourself?” It was then that I realized that I am basically an inner bitch to myself. I no longer want these negative thoughts being projected out into the universe because of the old adage… you reap what you sow… and I am done with shoveling shit!

So what is an affirmation? It is defined in two ways:

  1. The action or process of affirming something.
  2. Emotional support or encouragement.

At the minimal level we need to be our own emotional support system. I have found through personal experience that you cannot depend solely on others to be your cheerleader. You need to learn how to cheer for yourself. Therefore I believe that having a more positive mind will foster a more positive life.

Affirmations are a great way to harness positive thinking. Negative thoughts are self-fulfilling. Beginning anything with the idea that you are not good enough will set you up for failure (which more than likely… most definitely leads into greater stress levels). This is exactly what I did when I taught a college course a couple years back… I can do anything that at first I feel impossible! Not that I was a failure but I set myself up for many obstacles that I could have avoided by having more confidence. Therefore logic suggests that changing the tone of your thought process to a more positive outlook can also be self-fulfilling.

“All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become.” ~Buddha

I found a basic affirmation review on a blog called Femme Boss. The blog post 25 Morning Affirmations to Kick-Start Your Day provides a list of 25 positive thoughts that are useful for starting our days. The post states that benefit to adding positive affirmations to your daily routine will

  • They help increase your awareness of your thoughts and words making it easier to recognize the negative + self-doubt thought patterns holding you back.
  • …define your focus. When you focus your energy on the things you want: achieving your goals, the positive, uplifting + good you are creating an abundance mindset and strengthening your resolve to make it happen.
  • …open you up to possibility. Too often we get stuck in the ‘impossible’ mindset, but affirmations flip this on it’s head. When you begin to positively affirm what is actually possible, a whole world of opportunity opens up to you

These are a list of some affirmations that she suggests for our morning routines.

Everything is going to work out for my highest good.
I am in charge of my mind.
I am strong in mind, body and spirit.
I am unique. I feel good about being alive and being me.
Amazing opportunities exist for me in every aspect of my life.
I choose to be happy right now. I love my life.
I appreciate everything I have. I live in joy.
I am positive and optimistic. I believe things will always work out for the best.
I am a powerful creator. I create the life I want.
I am excited about today.
I choose to love with an expanded heart.
I choose to work with a focused mind.
I am thankful for all that I have.
I create the life i desire.
I have unlimited potential.
I now release the drama of my past. I consciously create my future.
I have all that I need to make today great.
I am patient and calm and looking forward to today.
I am grateful for another day to make a positive contribution.
I am not a product of my circumstances. I am a product of my decisions.
I am a leader and lover of life.
Something wonderful is about to happen to me

If you try any of these let me know how it works out for you. Also if you practice affirmations what has been your experience? Has it helped you? What are some of your favorite ones?

d19d5922a8122f797a6cd2a90a983827

7 thoughts on “A to Z guide for a more positive life: A is for Affirmations #AtoZChallenge

  1. Great read! It’s about changing your mind. In every situation they are both there the positive and the negative. It’s a choice where you want to direct your attention. You learn a lot from the positive. If you know what is working in one area of your life, you can see how you make that work in another area. Good work knowing you are in charge of your thoughts. For me that can be the biggest shift….as I’m heading down the negative trail…all of a sudden I can catch myself and say oohhh boy….wrong direction. Thanks for the reminder. Love the list of affirmations. Just reading them feels good. To make sense of my inner voice I’m writing a blog. https://unbreakablejoy.wordpress.com/2017/02/01/so-insecure/ This one about insecurity reminds me to stay on the positive track. No pressure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

