I

I ate food today
So world hunger doesn’t exist

I feel cold
So global warming is not real

I have health insurance
So others also have easy access to their medications and treatments

I am not sick
So everyone must be well

I have a job
So poverty is fake news that was perpetrated to give my money to lazy people

I live in a home
So homelessness is made-up

I don’t feel oppressed
So no other woman is oppressed

I am in a loving and healthy relationship
So domestic violence is a lie

I was never raped
So it is just something others lie about for attention or money

When something doesn’t effect me
It must not be real

When I don’t agree with something
It must not be real

If I don’t want to look it up
It must not be real

What is wrong with this picture?

Why can’t people think outside of themselves?

6 thoughts on “I

  1. You make a great point! It’s called empathy, or emotional intelligence. Could be better developed, but there is often no interest in doing so, as some people profit from the ignorance of others.

    Like

  2. I so love this! I try to force myself to places where I am forced to gain a perspective. When you have been through hell, you can get so wrapped up in it that you forget compassion and empathy…you lose all perspective. Thank you for providing us one. You writing is awesome-approachable, honest…love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

